How to Factory Reset an iPhone 13

How to Factory Reset an iPhone 13

Last Updated on by Daniel Lawrence

Apple has created several methods to restore an iPhone to factory default settings, and they can all be used to wipe out personal data, restore the device to its original settings, or restore it to the last state before any data was changed.

To factory reset the iPhone 13, follow the instructions below.

How Do I Force a Factory Reset on My iPhone 13?

Simply follow these steps to factory reset an iPhone 13 running iOS 15 or higher:

iPhone 13

Begin by making a backup of your iPhone. Given that this is a step in the factory reset procedure, it’s best to be cautious. After all, this is your priceless information. Find out how to back up your iPhone.

  • Tap Settings.
  • Click General.
  • Tap Transfer or Reset iPhone at the bottom of the screen.
  • Erase All Content and Settings is the last option.
  • This screen indicates what data will be erased from your iPhone, such as your Apple ID and the Activation Lock for this iPhone (which is important if you’re selling it!). Tap Continue.
  • If prompted, enter your iPhone’s passcode or Apple ID.
  • Data on your iPhone will be backed up to iCloud. Again, you’ll probably want to restore your backed-up data onto your new iPhone, so make a backup (or when you get the current one back from being repaired).
  • Follow any remaining onscreen prompts once the backup is complete.

Note: If the backup does not begin automatically, create a manual backup of your iPhone before proceeding with the subsequent instructions.

  • The data on your iPhone will be wiped. You’ve completed the iPhone 13 factory reset when the iPhone restarts and displays the first configuration screen.

Using a Computer to Factory Reset an iPhone 13

You can also factory reset your iPhone 13 using the PC to which you sync it. Here’s how to do it:

  • Go to Settings > [your name] > Find My > Find My iPhone > drag the Find My iPhone slider to off/white to turn off Find My iPhone on your phone.
  • Using a USB cord, connect your iPhone 13 to your computer.

Open a new Finder window and select your iPhone under Locations on Macs running macOS 10.15 (Catalina) or later.
Open iTunes on a PC or an older Mac.

  • Click Restore iPhone on the main iPhone control screen.
  • Make a decision about whether or not you want to back up your iPhone. It comes highly recommended!
  • Click Restore.
  • Your iPhone 13 has been factory reset when it resumes and returns to the setup screen.

Is the iPhone 13 equipped with a factory reset button?

To initiate a factory reset, there is no physical button or combination of buttons to push. This is done on purpose since you don’t want to be able to factory reset your iPhone by pressing the wrong buttons.

However, pressing buttons can be used to do some necessary iPhone maintenance, such as restarting or hard resetting an iPhone and entering Recovery Mode.