How to Reset an iPhone to Factory Settings

How to Reset an iPhone to Factory Settings

Last Updated on by Daniel Lawrence

iPhone users have the option of restoring their iPhone to the factory settings or setting up an entirely new iPhone with their own preferences. If you need to reset your iPhone to factory settings, here’s a step-by-step guide.

How to Reset an iPhone to Factory Settings

A factory reset restores your iPhone to the state it was in when it was initially delivered to you—completely blank, with all of your data erased. You’re ready to get started after backing up your data and turning off iCloud and Find My.

To restore your iPhone to its original form, follow these steps:

How to Reset an iPhone to Factory Settings

  • Tap Settings.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and select General.
  • Reset may be found at the bottom of the page.
  • Tap Erase All Content and Settings on the Reset screen.
  • Enter the passcode you selected on your phone if asked.
  • All music, other material, data, and settings will be wiped, according to the screen. To continue, tap Erase.

Note: Tap Cancel if you don’t want to bring the phone to its default state.

  • Everything on the iPhone can be deleted in a few minutes. The iPhone will restart after the operation is completed, and its settings will be restored to their previous state.

How to Make a Data Backup

When you hard reset an iPhone, all of the data on it is erased. That means all of your music, apps, contacts, images, and other data on the device would be lost. Only the iOS and the pre-installed apps will remain.

That’s why, before you start the process, you should make a backup of your data. Storing a copy of your data allows you to restore it from a backup later if something goes wrong.

To back up data, you have three options: iTunes, Finder, or iCloud.

iTunes as a backup

To back up to iTunes, connect your phone to your computer, then go to the main iPhone screen and click the Backup button.

Using Finder as a backup

Plug the iPhone into the computer, open a Finder window, choose the iPhone in the left-hand Devices menu, and back up on a Mac running macOS Catalina (10.15) or newer.

Back up your data to iCloud.

To back up to iCloud, go to Settings > [your name] (you can skip this step if you’re using an older version of iOS) > iCloud > iCloud Backup, and then start a backup.

Check out How to Backup Your iPhone 7 or How to Backup iPhone X for more information on how to back up your iPhone (despite the titles, the tips apply to all models).

How to Turn Off iCloud and Locate My iPhone

It’s also necessary to disable iCloud and Find My iPhone when totally resetting your iPhone. If you want to reset the phone, it has a security mechanism called Activation Lock that needs you to input the Apple ID you used to set it up. When you switch off iCloud/Find My iPhone, the feature is disabled.

Activation Lock has helped to prevent iPhone thefts by making it more difficult to use a stolen iPhone. If you don’t turn off Activation Lock, the next person who obtains your iPhone—whether it’s a buyer or a technician be unable to use it.

  • Tap Settings.
  • Your name will be tapped (skip this step on earlier versions of the iOS).
  • Select iCloud > Find My iPhone > Find My iPhone from the drop-down menu. (On iOS 13 and later, bypass iCloud and tap Find My instead.)
  • Slide the Find My iPhone slider to the off/white position.
  • To go back to one screen, tap Find My in the top left corner. Then tap Apple ID to return to the previous screen.
  • Sign out by scrolling to the bottom of the screen.
  • Enter your Apple ID/iCloud password if required.